Fall TV

This is the first fall I’ve been in the US since 2007, so I was really looking forward to the start of the fall tv season.  One small glitch – no television in the house where I’m staying.  However, since I left Hulu happened and boy am I glad it did.  I’m now enjoying catching up on programs I missed while I was gone and watching the new season.  I love having a queue of shows waiting for me when I have a few minutes.

Here’s a round up of some shows I’ve been watching:

New this Fall:

Pan Am – I’m really enjoying this show.  It’s smart, unexpected and the period setting makes it beautiful to watch.  I’d recommend it to others.

Up All Night – This one had good reviews and a good cast, so I decided to give it a try.  Three episodes in I decided that it was incredibly annoying and more like taking medicine than something enjoyable.  Dumped from the queue.

New to Me:

Community – A friend suggested that I watch this and I’m glad he did.  I’m really enjoying this show – witty, fun and good writing.  The only thing is that I’ve jumped in on season 3, so I’m missing some of the in jokes.

Shows I Missed While I Was Gone:

Design Star – I did get to see one season of this while I was gone, but I missed many others.  This is one of my favorite types of reality tv shows.  I’m a visual person, so I love seeing how the contestants use their creative minds to produce new designs week after week.  Good show, nice to catch up on the latest series (though I’ll have to do my catching up on HGTV).

Iron Chef America – The tension.  The drama.  The frantic cooking.  The slightly camp narration.  All fabulous (though I can’t watch too many in a row).

Dancing With the Stars – I watched some series’ while I was gone, but it’s been fun to get back into it again.  This year’s series seems to have a theme of reminding us to look beyond the external packaging.

Still Not Sure:

House – Last year I stopped watching this as the quality seemed to drop off.  I’ve been accumulating the new episodes in a queue, but haven’t started watching the series yet. Anyone know if it’s any good?

Old Favorites:

The Good Wife – Probably my favorite thing on television right now.  Great writing, great characters and great actors.  I’ve always had a soft spot for Josh Charles too.  Thankfully CBS puts this up on their website every Monday.  The only show I’ll make time in my calendar to watch.

Grey’s Anatomy – Yeah, I know.  It’s my guilty pleasure.

Languishing in the Queue:

Glee – I’m not sure why I haven’t started watching yet.  Perhaps it’s because watching this show has always been a ‘house thing’ for me.  I’ve always watched it with house mates.  It seems weird to watch it alone.  Or maybe it’s because there’s more hype for it here, which makes me less excited to see it.

 

Wow – that makes it look like I watch a lot of tv!  I really don’t.  Occasionally a show in the evening, or a couple on the weekends.  I like just watching what I want to watch, rather than turning on the tv and flipping to find something good.  It’s not background noise now, which is a good change.

Things I miss?  Spooks!  And Strictly!

2 thoughts on “Fall TV

  1. GLEE is languishing in my Hulu queue as well. Not sure why, but with all the other tv shows to watch out there, it is no where near the top of the list anymore.

  2. I know! Plus, in the UK they start running them later, but then don’t take any breaks. Once I start watching I don’t want to have 3-4 week breaks.

    Any other shows that you’re loving that I haven’t discovered yet?

Leave a Reply

