In Praise of Big Books

When I started my 52 book challenge at the beginning of this year I honestly didn’t think I’d be able to do it.  I had set the goal before and only made it to 30, so I knew something had to change.  Despite the fact that I had just started Wolf Hall (with it’s significant thump factor), I realized I would probably need to read some smaller or easier reading books to make my total.

While I have passed my goal, I’ve remained in the mindset of finishing a book a week.  I’ve tended to steer towards lighter novels and easier non-fiction.  As the year has progressed I have looked forward to 2012 and some more challenging and weighty books.

Well, I didn’t quite make it to 2012.  At the library last week I spotted Cape Cod by William Martin.  At 600+ pages I knew it would take a little longer.  I’m loving getting caught up in an epic adventure again.  Rather than the emotional whiplash of dashing through a dramatic tale and then bouncing on to another, these characters will be part of my life for at least weeks, if not longer.

On the non-fiction front I’ve emerged from some articles and papers back into some fairly weighty texts as well.  I’m getting a lot out of them (and look forward to discussing them soon).  One more on order and arriving soon, I hope.

I’m a project oriented person, so I love the feeling of finishing something.  I can get bogged down in the long and dense.  However, for right now I’m enjoying these books.

I’m still hoping to make it to the 80 book mark by the end of the year, but we’ll see how that goes.

No book reviews for a while!  I’ll have to think about something new to write about!

Leave a Reply

