A Game of Hide and Seek

To be fair, any book you read after Pride & Prejudice is going to be a bit of a letdown.  However, I really did want to like A Game of Hide and Seek.  I wanted to love Elizabeth Taylor as an author.  She’s a favorite in England and I’ve had several people recommend her books to me.

A Game of Hide and Seek was the first Elizabeth Taylor book I’ve tried.  The quality of the book varied widely.  Often the plot jumped in ways that left me shaking my head.  One moment Charles is proposing to Harriet and she’s refusing and the next they’ve been married 10+ years.  I think I missed something important in there.

The basic plot seemed to be the love triangle between Charles, Harriet and Vesey.  Harriet and Vesey have a thing in the their teenage years (or almost have a thing – I wasn’t clear) and seem to pine for each other for the rest of their lives.  Vesey has a slow descent through his life and Harriet has an apparently unhappy marriage with Charles, who always suspects the situation.

The thing is, I just didn’t care.  None of the characters were particularly likeable.  The writing wasn’t particularly readable.  I almost put the book down at page 40, but it got a little better and I kept going.  I’m glad I finished, if only to know that at times it did get better and at times it didn’t.

I can’t say that I can recommend Taylor as an author.  Is there anyone out there who’s read other of her books and really enjoyed them?  Do they all seem like they are 1950s chick lit?

Leave a Reply

