Hunger Games

All of that concern that a new job would mean no time for reading or that I’d only manage 5-10 pages a night was for nothing.  It turns out that for the right book, I still manage to read quite quickly.

I had been resisting reading the cultural phenomenon that is Hunger Games.  Sure everyone loves it, but I don’t like sci fi.  I’m above this.

And then sometime during my move last weekend I wanted to be entertained.  No internet.  No tv.  In too much pain (fibromyalgia) to do much of anything.  Sure, I have two bookshelves full of books, but I wanted a real page turner.  I was in real danger of reading Twilight again, but I didn’t want to do that.  So I checked Amazon for the cost of Hunger Games.  It was $5, so I gave it a shot.  I dragged my Kindle to a friend’s house and downloaded the book.

Is the book addictive?  Is it a page turner?  Did I totally get sucked in?  Yes!

Sure, it’s a little formulaic and predictable, but you are really rooting for the main character, Katniss.  The plot is a reality television show on some really scary steroids and Katniss is playing for her life.

I whipped through the book in three days – grabbing moments at lunch and reading whenever I could.  It was perfect for someone who desperately needed to not get caught up in the unpacking/rearranging of her new apartment.

Of course, now that I’ve finished Book One, I’m wanting to read Book Two.  Hopefully I can hold off for a little while and finish another book.  We’ll see how well that goes!

One thought on “Hunger Games

  1. I know what you mean about Hunger Games. It’s addictive, and I can figure out why. Another good YA read that you will wonder why it’s so addictive is Divergent by Veronica Roth. It’s also dystopia, yet it’s the character of Tris that kept me going, much like rooting for Katniss.
    Happy Pages,
    CricketMuse

Leave a Reply

