The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

Reading the fly leaf of this book it seemed like it might be interesting.  A girl who can taste her mother’s sadness in the cake she has baked.  Interesting thought.

However, as I read the book I didn’t think it lived up to the initial ‘hook’.  It was formulaic and predictable.

The thing is that it’s great to have a unique idea – a new spin for a novel.  But this hook just wasn’t strong enough to hold up a fairly poorly written novel.

And let’s talk about the yummy looking piece of cake on the cover.  Way to torture myself carrying this around.

It took me a long while to write anything about this book.  The reality was that I didn’t really care.  I was anxious to get on to another book.  Which also turned out to be a dud.  I really need to find a good book.

Leave a Reply

