Photo Friday: Even Better Than the Real Thing

About once a year I have a photography awakening.  The rest of the year I still take some photos, but around once a year I think more about who I want to be as a photographer.  Do I want to do the moody hipster thing?  Do I want to play with B & W?  Is it more fun just to do snapshots and not think about it?  Would a new lens change everything?

I’m going through some of that again.  Reading blogs.  Looking at photos.  Is this really art?

And then I shoot a picture like this:

Frankly, this photo does not capture the whole story.  This is a very active two year old in the middle of a bunch of craziness.  But the photo doesn’t show any of that.

Somehow, capturing a sweet little boy in 1/125th of a second transcends the reality of all that was around it.

Leave a Reply

