Nantucket Nights

No, sadly, not my Nantucket nights.  Just a book.  Sadly, that’s the story of my summer vacation.  Read about it.  Reality is just local for now.

Last week I was a bit overwhelmed.  I had finished Lost Memory of Skin, which was a really great book, but very intense.  I then picked up another dramatic novel and I just couldn’t get anywhere.  I needed a bit of a beach read to give my poor brain a break.

I’ve read a couple of Elin Hilderbrand novels and enjoyed them, so I picked this one up for my ‘light read’.

Unfortunately, I don’t think this is her best novel.  I enjoyed the first half of the book, but then things started getting more and more over dramatic and then got tied up in a nice little bow.  It felt a little like she phoned this novel in, which is disappointing as a reader.

The characters were fine, the setting was lovely, the writing was decent…  In this case, it was the plot that was lacking.  She went over the top in building the tension.  A group of friends going on their annual midnight swim ready to share secrets.  Then one of the friends disappears and things fall apart.  One friend sells another out to the police.  Husbands have secrets of their own.  Children lash out and wreck havoc.  It felt a little too soap opera-esque.  No, it felt like a country song.

So, if you’re a fan of Hilderbrand’s novels, skip this one.  If you’re looking for a beach read, skip this one.  Not the worst book in the world, but a missed opportunity.

Leave a Reply

