Death Comes to Pemberley

I’ve been on vacation these last few days and I really wanted a good novel to dig into.  I ducked into my library and they had Death Comes to Pemberley on a 7 day loan.  I had been wanting to read it and when is better for a 7 day loan when on vacation.

Pemberley was just what I needed.  I was drawn into the story and really enjoyed the novel.  I kept making time to curl up with the book and read just a little bit more.

Now, I’ve read quite a few ‘follow up’ type books to Pride & Prejudice.  Generally they are fairly badly written but good for light reading.  Death Comes to Pemberley was a step above the rest of these novel.  James is clearly a very good writer.  However, she does a lot of explaining the basic story of Pride & Prejudice.

The mystery part of the novel is a little light and I wondered what James’ fans would think of the lightweight murder mystery.  James seems more interested in fleshing out the story and characters of P&P than in the mystery part.  This was fine with me, but this is the first James novel I have read and I wonder if her others are the same.

James is no Austen, but this was a really enjoyable book to read and great for vacation entertainment.

Leave a Reply

