Best of Music

For the first time in a while, I got quite into music this year.  I had lots of catching up to do, so not all of my “best of” are from 2012.

killersThe Killers – Battle Born

I love The Killers album Hot Fuzz (which I also bought this year).  Between these two albums, I’ve had many hours of great driving music.

The Killers take first place on my Last FM list for the year

 

sloanNumber two on the list is Sloan.  In my exploration of Canadian music I rediscovered this band from my hometown.  Their sound is great.  A little 60s and little 70s and a little none of the above.  Their albums are packed full of great music. Highly recommend.

 

 

antebellumThis isn’t the first year I’ve enjoyed Lady Antebellum, but I listened to them plenty.  Nothing like getting a car again to give you the chance to blast the tunes.

 

 

 

adeleAdele was a discovery from my UK days, but I continued listening after I landed back in the US.  It’s great music to relax to.  When’s a new album coming??

 

 

 

u2Coming in at #5 on my Last FM list is my old favorite U2.  No new music for a while, but the old stuff is still thoroughly enjoyable.

 

 

 

 

Worth Noting Beyond the Last FM List

Our Lady Peace – Rediscovered these guys this year after hearing more about their charitable work.  Great music (and Canadian too).

Sugarland – I discovered Jennifer Nettles on the Duets television fiasco.  It was one of the few good things coming out of that show.  Love the song Tonight.  Great for blasting while driving.

Beach House – Amazon had a great sale on mp3s at the beginning of the summer and the samples sounded good.  I’m so glad I gave it a shot.  It’s mellow and a bit 70s-ish.  I can’t believe I found these guys by accident.

Kathleen Edwards – More Canadian talent.  Love her voice and her music is nice and mellow.

That’s this year in music.  I can’t wait to see what I discover next year!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

