The Best of Non-Fiction

While I may have had mixed luck with fiction this year, I enjoyed almost all of my non-fiction.  Almost all of them could be on this list, but I’ll highlight the best of the best.

Truth & Beauty by Ann Patchett – Patchett is one of my favorite authors, so it was a no brainer to give this a read.  It was an insightful book and raw with emotion.  There were moments it definitely wasn’t ‘enjoyable’, but I couldn’t tear myself away.

Quiet by Susan Cain – There a few books here and there which you really feel change your life.  I’m pretty sure this is going to be one of them.  I’ve known I’m an introvert for a long time, but reading this book really fleshed that out and helped me understand myself (and many other people) better.  It also made me think a good deal about leadership and the qualities our society appreciates.

In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan – I gave the quality of America’s food a lot of thought when I was in the UK.  Then I moved back and in with a family that was very crunchy granola.  Moving into my own place I had to start making my own decisions.  I read this book to help with those decisions and I wasn’t disappointed.  Pollan makes a good case for a different kind of eating.

Velvet Elvis by Rob Bell – This is another one of those books that changes your life.  Reading it this year for the 5th or 6th time didn’t disappoint.

Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott – I’ve been doing some writing this year and was looking for some technical help or encouragement.  Lamott gave both.  Highly recommend this book for artists.

 

Special Mention:

“for Everyone” books by NT Wright – Never disappoint.

A Year of Biblical Woman by Rachel Held Evans – A really good book with good questions and encouragement.

Leave a Reply

