The Complete List

I managed to finish 64 books in 2012 (still have one more review to write).  Not bad for having a very demanding job from the end of March!  Even after starting my job, I still managed to read a book a week.  We’ll see if I’m able to keep up that pace in 2013.  I really enjoyed my reading this year.  I did less reading of light books just to keep up the pace and even read a few tough books.

For 2013 I’m going to try to be more intentional about my reading.  Often I’ve just been reading whatever is on the shelf at the library.  I’ve been storing up good books on my bookshelf and my Kindle, so I’m hoping for some good reads this year.

2012

Fiction (49)

Gilead – Marilynne Robinson* (5)

The Three Weissmanns of Westport – Cathleen Schine (3)

Earthly Possessions – Anne Tyler (3)

Sarah’s Key – Tatiana de Rosay (4 1/2)*

Silver Girl – Elin Hilderbrand (4)*

Black Water – Joyce Carol Oates (4)

The Glass Room – Simon Mawer (4 1/2)*

February – Lisa Moore (3 1/2)

Weekend With Mr. Darcy – Victoria Connelly (3)

Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen (5)*

A Game of Hide and Seek – Elizabeth Taylor (2/12)

Miranda’s Big Mistake – Jane Mansell (3)

The Marriage Plot – Jeffrey Eugenides (4)

Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll (4 1/2)*

Emma – Jane Austen (4)*

The Fall Back Plan – Leigh Stein (2 1/2)

The History of Love – Nicole Krauss (4 1/2)*

Austenland – Shannon Hale (3.5)

Faith – Jennifer Haigh (4.5)*

Shopgirl – Steve Martin (3.5)

Maine – J. Courtney Sullivan (4)

Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins (4)*

The Paris Wife: A Novel – Paula McLain (2 1/2)

I married you for happiness – Lily Tuck (3)

Digging to America – Anne Tyler (4 1/2)*

Home Front – Kristin Hannah (3 1/2)

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand – Helen Simonson (3 1/2)

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake – Aimee Bender (2 1/2)

Another Piece of My Heart – Jane Green (2 1/2)

The Upright Piano – David Abbott (3 1/2)

The Translation of the Bones – Francesca Kay (3 1/2)

Nadia Knows Best – Jill Mansell (4)*

Trapeze – Simon Mawer (4 1/2)*

Lost Memory of Skin – Russel Banks (4)*

Nantucket Nights – Elin Hilderbrand (3)

Home – Toni Morrison (4)

A Surrey State of Affairs – Ceri Radford (4)*

The English Patient – Michael Ondaatje (4 1/2)*

The Sacrifice of Tamar – Naomi Ragen (4)*

The Singles – Meredith Goldstein (3)

Betrayal – Evelyn Anthony (4)*

The Red Tent – Anita Diamant (4)

Vaclav & Lena – Haley Tanner (3 1/2)

tinkers – Paul Harding (4)

Death Comes to Pemberley – P.D. James (4)*

Someone Knows My Name / Book of Negroes – Lawrence Hill (4 1/2)*

The Beginner’s Goodbye – Anne Tyler (4)

One Moment, One Morning – Sarah Rayner (4)*

The Language of Flowers – Vanessa Diffenbaugh (3 1/2)

Non-Fiction (15)

Improvisation – Samuel Wells*

I’m A Stranger Here Myself – Bill Bryson

London City Guide (Insight Guides)*

The Limits of Power – Andrew Bacevich*

At Work – Annie Leibovitz*

Truth and Beauty – Ann Patchett*

Quiet – Susan Cain*

The Glass Castle – Jeannette Walls*

In Defense of Food – Michael Pollan*

Matthew for Everyone, Part I – N.T. Wright*

Velvet Elvis – Rob Bell*

Bird by Bird – Anne Lamott*

Matthew for Everyone, Part II – NT Wright*

A Year of Biblical Womanhood – Rachel Held Evans*

Open Mind, Open Heart – Thomas Keating

* highly recommended

Leave a Reply

