Summer Lies

summerliesI picked up the book Summer Lies at the library because I had previously enjoyed The Reader by Bernhard Schlink.  When I got it home I was surprised to find that it was a book of short stories.  Normally I don’t like short stories, but in this case it was perfect.  I knew I’d have time to read about half of the book before I left for my Christmas trip.  It worked perfectly to read some of the stories and then the rest when I got back without ‘losing’ the plot.

This was a moderately good book.  Several of the stories were good, but some of the characters seemed a little interchangeable.  I’m not sure if I would have finished the book under other circumstances, but sometimes the book meets the right timing.

Summer Lies doesn’t come near the quality of The Reader and the quality of the writing is even inconsistent within the collection itself.  Few of the stories are particularly memorable, unlike The Reader which haunted me for months.

I don’t think I would recommend this collection, but I don’t regret reading it.  Lukewarm praise.

Leave a Reply

