Summerland

summerlandAfter reading a couple of dark and fairly heavy books, I decided something lighter was in order.  I’m not sure what about the cover description of families coping with the aftermath of a fatal car crash made me think this was lighter, but I chose Summerland.

I have enjoyed other Elin Hilderbrand books.  They are generally set on Nantucket and by the end I usually want to become a year round resident.

The plot of this story is heavy – it starts with a car accident involving four teenagers.  One dies, one struggles for life and two are ‘fine’. The families of these teenagers react in different ways and the community as a whole deals with the death of one of its ‘stars’ and the injury of her twin brother.

Saying too much about the family interactions would spoil the plot, so I’ll just say that families aren’t always what they seem.

As usual, Hilderbrand writes an engaging novel.  Even the characters you feel you shouldn’t like, you end up rooting for.  I finished the book yesterday and then kept picking it up, expecting there to be another chapter.  What happens next?  What happens to these characters?  I tried starting another book last night, but had to give up because my mind was still stuck in Summerland.

This is hardly high literature, but it’s a good, readable novel with good plot and characters.

Leave a Reply

