Bossypants

bossypantsI had been wanting to read this book for a while and so I was happy when I found it on sale in the Kindle shop for 99 cents.  It seemed like perfect timing, since I needed less dramatic/emotional reading material.

I’ve enjoyed Tina Fey’s writing and performance since her days on Weekend Update.  I watched many seasons of 30 Rock (I lost track while I was in the UK) and watched her Palin performances with interest.  I loved her and Amy’s Emmy hosting gig.  I expected to love this book.

I’m not sure what I think of this book.  There were parts that were very funny and I laughed out loud.  There were parts that made great points about the relative treatment of women and men.  Generally, I really like Tina’s work.  However, there were parts that were just too crude.  I think it was pretty unnecessary for the overall book.

I read this book in less than two days, so I’m glad I didn’t pay too much for it.  The reading level is very low and there isn’t much substance to the book.  It was only because I was quite busy that it took two days to finish.

I enjoyed the chapters about Tina’s upbringing and could relate to some of her experiences.  A good bit of her charm is how relatable she is.  The chapters I liked less were the later chapters of the book (which I thought I would enjoy more).

There were moments that I really liked this book and there were others I didn’t.  A friend asked if I would recommend it and I didn’t think I could.

Were my expectations higher because she’s a female comic?  I don’t think so.  I think my expectations were high because she’s always seemed very classy.  I was quite surprised when I hit some of the crude parts.  I don’t think of myself as a prude, so I guess I would tell possible readers (if I’m not the last person on earth to read this book) to beware.

Leave a Reply

