Land’s End

landsendI picked up this small book at the library a few weeks ago.  I was intrigued by the idea of books about favorite cities by famous authors.  I love cities and their unique characters.

I’ve spent quite a bit of time on Cape Cod, but I’ve never made it all the way up to Provincetown.  I always mean to get up there, but I get distracted along the way by the beaches and shoreline.  I hoped that this book would help me decide if I should include Provincetown on my next planned trip.

The book wasn’t what I expected.  I thought it would be an ode to the beauty of the land and the character of the town.  Yes, there is a little of that (the chapter about whale watching was the best in the book).  However, most of the book is devoted to living the gay lifestyle in Provincetown – the best bars, etc.  Perhaps interesting as a snapshot of the life of the town.  Since I’m not a gay man, it wasn’t particularly relevant to me.

The writing was also not at the level I expected.  This is Michael Cunningham!  It felt like it was written quickly and without much crafting of language.

I wish the book had been a little more forthright about the approach to the topic.  I’m sure it has a strong appeal.  It just didn’t work with why I was reading the book.  Disappointing, but at least it was short.

Leave a Reply

