Beautiful Ruins

beautifulruinsI don’t think I would have ordinarily pick up Beautiful Ruins to read, but it was the book clubs’ choice this month so I gave it a read.  While introducing the book last month the group leader read a seriously glowing review from the New York Times that seemed to indicate that this was the best book ever written.  I was intrigued.

Beautiful Ruins is a nice little beach read.  The plot was fairly far fetched and required a lot of buy in to flimsy premise.  However, once you got past that, there was a sweet romance and occasional characters that were interesting.  Very escapist.  Very summer quick read.

Not sure I’d recommend it to others, but I don’t regret reading it.

Unfortunately, I ended up not being able to attend the book club meeting, so I don’t know if I’m alone in my assessment.

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Ruins

Leave a Reply

