The Yellow Birds

yellowbirdsYou know how sometimes you read a book and wonder if you read it at a different time if you would like it better?

I know The Yellow Birds is an award winning book and I’m sure many many people enjoyed the book, but somehow I missed the allure.  I kept waiting to get engaged, but it didn’t happen.  The book moves back and forth from before the deployment of the main character, to the deployment when traumatizing events happened, to after he comes home.  I would just start to figure things out and the chapter would end and the time would jump again.

I felt like there were probably many layers to this book, but I was barely keeping track of the narrative, so I wasn’t able to focus on anything else.

Anyone else have a better experience with this book?  Can you explain it to me?

Leave a Reply

