Gone Girl

gonegirlGenerally I’m not much of a whodunnit reader.  However, when I spotted Gone Girl at the library, I thought I’d give it a shot.  Reviewed by many as one of the best books of 2012, it’s worth breaking out of my usual type of book.

Gone Girl is the definition of a page turner.  I stayed up too late reading it.  I accidently took an extra long lunch at work reading it.  I couldn’t put it down.  And yet, I didn’t like it.

The book starts with the disappearance of Amy.  Nick, her husband is the obvious suspect.  They had been a bit of an ‘it’ couple in NYC.  Amy was the subject of a famous children’s book series and both are writers in the Big Apple.  Then the bubble burst and they both lost their jobs.  Her parents manage to lose the family fortune from the books and Nick and Amy move to Mississippi to take care of his dying mother.  Their relationship slowly unravels.  And then Amy disappears.

Part 1 intersperses narrative by Nick in real time as the circumstances of the disappearance evolve with journal entries by Amy from the previous 7 years.

I don’t want to ruin the plot for anyone, so I won’t give any more details of the twists in the book.  Neither Amy or Nick are who they appear to be and many of the twists took me by surprise.  However, by Part 3 I didn’t like any of the characters.  The twists had gone too far and I lost my empathy for any of them.  I just wanted to book to end.  Reading through the Amazon reviews, I wasnt’ the only one who felt this way.

It’s hard to review a book which starts of strong and then gets so caught up in its own cleverness that it ends so weakly (and I hated the ending).  I certainly won’t read it again and wouldn’t recommend it unless you love that genre and want something a little different.  Also, be warned, it’s fairly crass.

Leave a Reply

