Ru

ruI had been waiting to read this book for over a year, since it made several lists of good Canadian books.

I was a little surprised that it was such a small book.  It was a fast read, but I’m a little unsettled by the book itself.  Somehow it felt like a mix between The House on Mango Street and When The Emperor Was Divine.

Ru is the story of an Vietnamese immigrant child to Montreal.  She tells the story of her family and their lives before and after immigrating.  It’s told in a disjointed way.

I’m not sure if I liked the book or not.  It was such a different world from my own childhood a few thousand miles away.  However, as much as it reminded me of THOMS and WTEWD, it wasn’t as well written as either of those two books.

Leave a Reply

