The High Road

high roadUntil I picked up Terry Fallis’ book The Best Laid Plans earlier this year, I had no idea that there was actual a genre of books for Canadian comedic political fiction.  It was like all of my favorite things, all rolled into one.

The Best Laid Plans is one of my favorite books of the year so far.  Enjoyable characters, fun plot twists, and good old-fashioned political intrigue.  It helped me remember how much I enjoy Canadian politics.

So, when I got the chance to head back up to Canada for a visit I ordered the sequel, The High Road, from the local library and devoured it.  The prickly Angus McLintock is back as the principled MP shaking things up in Ottawa.  The government has fallen and the election is on.  Will Angus run again, given that he never wanted to run in the first place.  Will Daniel escape the hold of Ottawa and finally get to teach English?

This book doesn’t disappoint.  It’s not as surprising as the original, but Fallis has found a good plot (bridge collapses and Angus must investigate) and helps us love the characters even more.

If you, like me, are a Canadian political hack, this series is for you.  Though, if you really are, you’ve already read the books and seen the tv series!

I can’t wait to find more Canadian political fiction!!

Leave a Reply

