The Happiness Project

happinessWhen stuck on an unusually long layover in an airport when the battery on your ebook reader is draining unusually fast, a paperback copy of The Happiness Project seems like a good thing to buy.  Maybe it’s the thought that you may never find happiness again (the illusion that you might have to live the rest of your life in a terminal of the Philadelphia airport) or the idea that there are concrete steps you can take to make yourself happier.

I can’t say I loved this book.  I’m sure it was very theraputic to write it and I’m sure it inspired many people to take up their own happiness project, but as a book to read, it’s not particularly good.  I’m happy for Gretchen that she was able to improve her life.  I’m sure if she was a friend of mine, I would have enjoyed the book much more.  I likely would have put it down, but as each month has its own theme, even the most dull themes were soon over.

Do I think that happiness can be a project?  Probably not.  However, I do think that it’s a choice and that there are some people (like me) who need goals to keep up the illusion of progress towards such things as happiness.

Will I do my own happiness project?  Probably not, but I can appreciate the concept of consciously taking control of your life and choosing to live about the tyranny of everyday chaos.

Leave a Reply

