Beachcombers

beachcombersI’ve long enjoyed Nancy Thayer’s writing.  In recent years her books have become my ‘beach reads’.  Light novels featuring romantic and family conflict set in Nantucket.

A few weeks ago I was ‘reading’ The Locust Effect in the car.  While it is undoubtedly an important book, two CDs in I was in despair every time I got in the car.  More horrible information with no hope in sight.  I had a longer car trip coming up and I knew I just couldn’t handle it any longer.

I was at the library and saw Beachcombers.  Perfect!  I popped it in the CD player and off to the races.

Driving to upstate NY I started to think this sounded familiar.  But I brushed it aside, as I’ve read lots of Thayer and Elin Hilderbrand’s books.  All fairly enjoyable, but a bit interchangeable.

Then I checked my book list at left on the blog.  I read Beachcombers two years ago.  Oops.

I’m pleased to report that it was still enjoyable the second time around and provided the light material I needed for my road trip.

Leave a Reply

