In the Body of the World

enslerI need to start out by admitting that I’m probably the only person in the world who hasn’t seen/read The Vagina Monologues.  I was vaguely aware of Eve Ensler, but I became aware of this book when I went to see a taping of George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight in Toronto.  I really enjoyed the conversation with Ensler (you can see the episode here).

The other day I came across this book at my local library on audio book and thought I would give it a try.

First, it’s important to note that if you’re of a delicate disposition, this book isn’t for you.  This is Eve Ensler.  She’s brutally honest and she’s talking about a cancer that invaded many of her essential organs.

Ensler handles the subject with grace and optimism.  The experience was clearly life changing.  Ensler is a good writer.

In the end though, I really wasn’t convinced about this book.  I understand that writing a book can be therapeutic, there did not seem to be a reason to read the book, unless you’re personally going through cancer, or you’re interested in the bodily functions of Eve Ensler.

Leave a Reply

