The Matchmaker

thematchmakerI’m not sure if The Matchmaker is Elin Hilderbrand is her best book.  Perhaps it’s that I went to Nantucket for the first time while I was reading it.  I finally got to see all of spots I’d read about in Hilderbrand’s books.

The Matchmaker is a major tear jerker.  I considered rating it in the number of kleenex’s I go through reading the book.  This one was about half a box.  Man oh man, it tugged on the heartstrings.  The characters were good, if flawed.  You get attached to them and then….  well, that’s when the kleenex is needed.  Stick with the book, at the beginning I hated the main character Dabney for being too perfect.  Later I hated her for walking away from a really amazing man.

Is it better to be with a soulmate who left you alone when you needed him most or to be with a wonderful man who has loved and cared for you through all the highs and lows of life?  It goes to my theory that men are either Bert or Ernie (disregarding any rumors that they are gay).  Women are attracted to the Ernies and it’s the Berts who would give them the life they want.

Yes, it’s a bit of a classic plot, but this time there was a twist that made for lots of tears.

Normally I think of Hilderbrand as beach books, but don’t take this to the beach unless you want to be oblivious to your surroundings (the tide may come in!) and sniffling, read this one at home on a rainy day!

Leave a Reply

