Year List #4: Buy a New U2 Album

u2Writing my Year List I tried to think of things that I really wanted in the next year.  I had the picture in my head of going to the store on the morning the new U2 was out and buying it, ripping off the wrapping and popping it in the car stereo.

Well, I hoped U2 was putting out a new album.  There were rumors one might be coming, but with U2 that could mean anything.

And then the Apple announcement.  I came out of a meeting to see a message about someone listening to the new album.  The messages were mysterious and it took me a few minutes to figure out what was going on.  And, of course, I was at work, so I had to wait until the end of the day.

I got home and started exploring my iTunes trying to figure out where it was hidden.  And then – there is was.

Listening the first time wasn’t the event I had hoped it would be.  Most of the songs felt like re-treads of old songs.  Nothing really caught me.

But it was here.  And it was free.  And it was a cool worldwide shared experience.  And it was a surprise.  It wasn’t the buying experience I was expecting, but it was a unique moment in time.  Just like everything else in life, reality always match the anticipation.

The songs have grown on me (Iris is my favorite track), even as the inevitable backlash began.  I’m undecided whether I’ll buy the next edition of the album or not.

Leave a Reply

