Orange Is The New Black

oitnbI’ve been avoiding Orange Is the New Black (OITNB) since the television show turned it into a cultural phenomenon.  The advertising seemed to indicate it was just another show trying to shock for ratings.

Then a local university made the book as the book all students would read last summer.  Given that their previous books was The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (which I loved), I wondered if I had written off OITNB too quickly.

One day I walked into my local library and found it on audio book, so I decided to give it a try.

I’m glad I did (and I later learned that the book and television show are quite different).  It was an interesting and challenging, looking at the US prison system from the point of view of a white middle class woman serving a short sentence.

I found it interesting for the view inside the prison and the class issues inside.  I also enjoyed seeing friendships grow even in the awful conditions.

The book is well written and ‘reading’ it on an audio book helped keep the many characters straight.  It’s well worth a read (as long as you’re not the sensitive sort) to be a little shaken up by a world that quietly exists in the background of our country.

Leave a Reply

