Lila

lilaI loved Gilead, Marilynne Robinson’s most famous novel, though I was less excited about Home.  Lila is the third book in this trilogy (or so it was thought at the time).

Gilead is a slow, sweet, and gentle book.  It gives a feeling that stays with you long after you’ve finished reading the book.  After reading Home I didn’t think I’d be reading any more in this series, but when I stumbled upon the audio book of Lila in my local library, I picked it up.

Lila is a very interesting and complex character.  While the circumstances of her life are very unusual, she has a presence.  I felt like I shouldn’t like Lila, and yet I did.  She is so damaged from her early life that nothing seems too strange from her.  As the book goes on you start to see glimpses of that early life.

Without spoiling the book, it’s hard to go into much detail.  I don’t think Lila reaches the master level of Gilead, but I do think Lila is probably Robinson’s best character yet.

Leave a Reply

