Station Eleven

stationelevenI first this book up in a bookstore because it was named the book for the whole town one town over to read.  When I read the back I thought “science fiction for a whole town?”.

Later I picked it up at my local library and noticed the book started in Toronto.  It’s free to try books in a library, so I thought I would give it a try.

The first night I started to read the book, it opened with an end of the world scenario in Toronto, which happens to be a city I love.  Also, I may hate ‘the world ends with the flu’ stories.  I ended up staying up later than I wanted to reading another book so that I wouldn’t have nightmares.

I tried to put the book down, but I really wanted to know what happened next.  So, the next day I picked it up and read until I was scared again.  Then I tried to put the book down, but I really wanted to know what happened next.  So, the next day I picked it up and it stopped being so scary.  Instead it became a ‘post-end of the world’ book, which normally I hate.  And yet I kept reading.  I started heading to bed early to have a little more time to read.  And then I forgot it at work on the weekend and then got sick so that I was out for two days.  The torture of not knowing the ending!  What could be a better recommendation?

The characters are amazing, the world she builds intrigues me, the movement between the world before and the world after kept me reading…  the ending didn’t disappoint.  This is a well written book.  And it doesn’t hurt that the author is Canadian.

However, as with all science fiction, I had the lingering feeling that the world built on world built on world carried more symbolism and mean than I will ever unravel.  Now I wish I had read it earlier so that I could have participated in the book discussions.  I’m sure I would have learned a few things.

I do wonder if Margaret Atwood has read the book and what she thinks.  There’s quite a legacy of female Canadian authors in this genre.

I’m still surprised that an upscale town would pick this book, but I can see how it would capture many generations.

Leave a Reply

