Catching Up on Fiction

craAfter hiding under my fibromyalgia rock for so long, I’m way behind on my book reviews.  Instead, I’ll do micro reviews below.

Something Blue – Emily Giffin (3 1/2) – Enjoyable, but forgettable.

China Dolls – Lisa See (4) – I had been meaning to read this book for a while.  An interesting friend drama set in the California Asian community in the Second World War.

My Brilliant Friend – Elena Ferrante (4) – I read this for a book club that I was too sick to attend.  Always interesting to read a completely different style of fiction.  Interesting family drama.

Dear Life – Alice Munro (4 1/2)* – Amazing!!

The Silver Star – Jeannette Walls (3 1/2) – This was okay, but not nearly as good as her non-fiction.

Second Chance – Jane Green (3 1/2) – I picked this up at a book sale this summer as it was set in the UK.  Good, but nothing more.

The Stranger – Albert Camus (3 1/2) – Short, but fascinating.

Crazy Rich Asians – Kevin Kwan (3 1/2) – Read this to lighten up after The Stranger.  It was everything I hoped for.  Light, frothy, but quite compelling.

A God in Ruins – Kate Atkinson (4) – I may never forgive this book.  I was reading the end as the granddaughter watches as her grandfather dies while waiting for the phone call to say that my grandfather died.

Leave a Reply

