Catching Up on Non-Fiction

malalaThe non-fiction I missed reviewing during my gap:

The Achievement Habit – Bernard Roth – Forgettable.

The Speechwriter – Barton Swaim – Also forgettable

A Fighting Chance – Elizabeth Warren* – Brilliant book.  Both a memoir and a easy to understand explanation of the great recession and what caused it.  I liked Warren before I read the book.  Now I’m convinced!

I Am Malala – Malala Yousafzai* – I’m one of those people who thought Malala just happened to be shot because she was a girl attempting to get an education in a Taliban controlled area (which is brave enough).  She was an activist long before the event that gave her international attention and an inspiration.

Unprocessed – Megan Kimble – I had high hopes for this book.  It was good, but doesn’t really warrant more than a long magazine article.

Team of Rivals – Doris Kearns Goodwin – Dreadfully boring.

If You Ask Me – Betty White – Fluff.

Completing College – Vincent Tinto – Very good.  All the critical information in a brief format with plenty of backup.  There is a reason Tinto is so well respected.

Leave a Reply

