Best of Fiction 2015

The best fiction books I’ve read this year:

stationelevenStation Eleven – Emily St. John Mandel – Normally I’m not a fan of science fiction, and yet I couldn’t put this one down.  A must read.

A Tale for the Time Being – Ruth Ozeki – Beyond the amazing cover, this story jumps times, continents, and possibly truths.  But it draws you in.  I didn’t want the book to end.atale

The Nightengale – Kirsten Hannah – I almost put this one down after the first chapter and I’m so glad I gave it a second chance.  The characters and story kept me hooked.

alicemunroDear Life – Alice Munro – I don’t generally enjoy short stories, but this was a series of tiny novels.  Munro builds worlds so quickly and masterfully I wanted to sink into each story.

I couldn’t decide on a fifth novel.  Here are the best of the rest:

Three Day Road – Joseph Boyden

We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

A God in Ruins – Kate Atkinson

The Penelopiad – Margaret Atwood

I wonder if the fact that most of the authors are Canadian is a personal bias, or if these novels are that much better.  Hmmm…

One thought on “Best of Fiction 2015

Leave a Reply

