The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club

beachstreetYes, it does seem like reading the title is a novella in itself!

I don’t think I would ever have picked up this book if a friend hadn’t recommended it.  After all, how many “society” or “club” books can there be?  Also, it starts a bit slow.

But a friend of mine who I hadn’t heard from for a while texted me to tell me she thought I’d like this book.  And I did.

Jo is a recent widow who walks away from her London life to begin again with her two sons in a seaside town taking over her grandmother’s yarn store.  She’s guiding her sons through grief, her staff through change, and giving out lots of advice to her various celebrity pals (do real people have that many celebrity friends?).  She deals with her own lack of grief (she and her husband were about to divorce when he died) and dabbling back into romance.

This book will not bring world peace.  It won’t tell you how to manage dynamic teams.

It will make you want to knit (or, in my case, crochet).  It will make you want to drink tea and eat custard creams.  It made me homesick for England.  And it was a good read that allowed me a few minutes of peace in my week.

Leave a Reply

