Bookends

bookendsThere are times in life when the ‘high falutin’ books need to be pushed to the side.  Most people think that’s on the beach, but for me when life gets heavy the time for learning, self-improvement, management tips, and literature is over.  Bring on the light fiction.  Anything set on Cape Cod or in the UK.

I read Bookends for the first time many many years ago (I was living outside Boston, which feels like a lifetime ago) and really enjoyed it.  Since then I have read many many Jane Green novels (and watched her shift from the UK to Connecticut while I shifted around myself) and I haven’t enjoyed many of her recent novels.  It was good to get back to her early writing.

I really liked Cath, the main character, and her group of friends.  The book was highly readable and a great distraction. I’m looking forward to going back and re-reading some of her early books.

Leave a Reply

