To Kill a Mockinbird

mockingbirdI’m sure I read this book once upon a time.  Back in the day.  When I had to read books off a list and then act too cool to like them.

With all the publicity about Harper Lee’s new book I got it in my head to go back and read the original.  There were a few months between good intentions and execution, but I’m glad I finally followed through.

I started with a little fear that it wouldn’t meet my expectations.  I was wrong.  This book is as good as the hype.  So many intertwined themes.  The brilliance of Scout as the narrator.  The wisdom of Atticus Finch.  That this book still stands up is quite a feat.

If you read this in high school and figure it’s done, pick it up and read it again.  It turns out there was a reason our teachers made us read it!

Leave a Reply

