The Nest

thenestThis book has been on my radar for a while.  Soon after my move I was finishing one book and my belongings hadn’t yet arrived.  I don’t have a library card yet, so I headed to the bookstore and The Nest was on sale.

This book hits a good middle between highbrow fiction and compelling reading.  It’s the story of siblings who spent their lives counting on an inheritance they would receive when the youngest turned 40.  Each plans on being rescued by the money.  Then one of them is in an accident and almost all the money is gone. They struggle to come to terms with the disappearance of the nest and rebuild their lives and relationships without money.

It’s well written and interesting.  Despite the fact that I didn’t always like the characters, I was compelled to keep reading.  It’s an enjoyable book, particularly as vacation reading.

Leave a Reply

