Traveling Mercies

merciesSometimes you read a great book and it’s not yet the right time to read it, so it’s not a great book for you.

Years ago I picked up Traveling Mercies.  I tried reading it, but I thought it was flaky, liberal, and too outside the orthodoxy for me.

Years later I picked it up again.  In the meantime life has taught me much.  I’ve also read lots of Anne Lamott’s books (and follow her on Twitter), so I knew what I was getting into.

This time I was ready for this book.  I enjoyed Lamott’s stories and needed her perspective.  This time the book was full of wisdom.  It’s still flaky, liberal, and outside the orthodoxy, but I’ve learned the importance of all these things.

Plus the world seems to be getting weirder and reassurance of an underlying plan is welcome.

I would highly recommend this book.  If you’re ready for it.

Leave a Reply

